Galyna Suslova have received the Laurel Award

Montréal, 15 October 2021 – The ninth ICAO Walter Binaghi Air Navigation Commission Laurel Award was bestowed this week by the President of the Air Navigation Commission, Mr. Nabil Naoumi, on dual recipients Dr. Vincent Orlando, nominated by the United States of America, and Mrs. Galyna Suslova, nominated by Ukraine. The ceremony took place during the opening Plenary of the ICAO High-level Conference on COVID-19 (HLCC 2021) on 12 October 2021.

The second 2021 Laurel Award, for Mrs. Suslova, was posthumously bestowed for her outstanding service to international civil aviation, and in particular, her many contributions to the Commission’s core mandate to promote increased safety, efficiency, and capacity in international civil aviation. She was further recognized for having provided an inspiration for generations of young female aviators.

The Laurel Award process is normally undertaken every two years, and acknowledges an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to the work of the ICAO Air Navigation Commission in furthering its work to improve the safety, regularity, and efficiency of international civil aviation.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *